How firm a foundation…. except in an earthquake!!!

Hey everyone!

Yes, there was an earthquake.  No, I did not get hurt.  Yes, it was a 7.7.  But no, Port McNeill was not super affected.  We had a tsunami warning, but nothing really came of it.  It was actually kind of fun.  Haha.

I don’t have a lot of time this week, but I wanted to share something from my personal study.  It was AWESOME!

1 Nephi 17: 8-9
“And it came to pass that the Lord spake unto me, saying:  Thou shalt construct a ship, after the manner which I shall show thee, that I may carry thy people across these waters.

And I said: Lord, whither shall I go that I may find ore to molten, that I may make tools to construct the ship after the manner which thou hast shown me?”

Now, I don’t know about you all, but if the Lord asked me to build a ship, that would NOT be the question I would ask.  It’d be more like… “um… really?  And how am I supposed to do that?…”
But not Nephi.  He asked where to find ore, to make tools.  What faith!!!

It goes on in verse 50 and 51
“And I said unto them: If God had commanded me to do all things I could do them.  If he should command me that I should say unto this water, be thou earth, it should be earth; and if I should say it, it would be done.

And now, if the Lord has such great power, and has wrought so many miracles among the children of men, how is it that he cannot instruct me, that I should build a ship?”

This scripture really struck me. If God commands us to do anything, He WILL provide the way for us to do it.  President Tilleman always says  “If God asked me to swim to Australia, the only question I’d ask is, can I start from the Gulf of Mexico rather than the Coast of California?”  I think it’s so amazing and inspiring that the Lord will ALWAYS help us to do the things He commands us.

That’s really about it for this week.  We have 9 lessons already planned for the week, so that’ll be great!  I will write more next week!  Until then, I hope everyone is doing wonderful, and I love you all!

Love Sister Arbon

Leave a Reply

