I’m dreaming of a white Christmas!

 

Hello everyone!!!  This was probably the greatest week and the worst week on the mission so far! 
 
My dear dear friend Sister Barb Bonnell was baptized and confirmed a member of the Church!!!  What an amazing experience being able to watch someone I love so much enter into the covenant of baptism!  Yes…. I may have cried. 
And her confirmation was phenomenal!  Brother Neilson is so in tune with the Spirit!  He said exactly what she needed to hear.  So wonderful!!  I love the gospel and the opportunity to share it with others and see the changes it can bring to people’s lives!!!
 
On a sad note, my amazing companion and mentor and friend went home. It’s sad that missions really do come to an end!  Sister Bosshardt is HOME!  So sad. Saying bye to her was very hard.  BUT!!!  I am back with my trainer, Sister Vallejo, and her newer greenie, Sister Brown!  We are covering both the Port McNeill and the Campbell River areas!  We are based in Port McNeill and will be here for 2 weeks, then in Campbell for a week, and then back here for 2 and then we will go back to normal.  So far, the tri has been awesome!  I’m LOVING it!!!!!  Honestly, so good.  It’s really cool to be back with Sister Vallejo!  I really am enjoying it a lot!  I was very worried, I’ll admit, that I would revert back to the useless new missionary that I was with her.  But that’s not the case!  We are able to work well as a tri and be very unified so far!  President Tilleman said he wants us to be like the 3 Nephites.  =]  I see that happening already!  It’s really going to be so good!
 
On an even sadder note….. My very sweet wonderful friend from Campbell River, Marcel Bordeleau, passed away from lung cancer last Sunday.  I was very very VERY sad when I found out.  Cried all night long.  He was such a wonderful man.  But now he’s out of pain, and I know he’ll open his heart and learn the gospel that made us and his wife so happy!  And in a year, she will be able to do his work and be sealed forever. 
 
I was studying this morning and found a really cool couple of insights!  I was reading in Alma 48, which I normally don’t get a lot out of.  But today I did!  It was amazing!  So I was reading in v. 9.  It says
“And in their weakest fortifications he did place the greater number of men; and thus he did fortify and strengthen the land which was possessed by the Nephites.”  
This is talking about Captain Moroni and the Nephites, vs Amalickiah and the Lamanites.   Captain Moroni is really an awesome leader, (as it illustrates in verses 11-13)  and he knows that there are some spots in the Nephites defense that need a little extra help. 
 
I was thinking of that in 2 different ways.  One, in our lives, we all have different chinks in our own armor.  We have weaknesses that Satan is fully aware of.  So we have to constantly be adding extra fortifications to those areas where we need extra help.  And secondly, we may know someone in our lives who is one of the weaker ones.  It is our job to help them to fortify themselves and be strengthened through Jesus Christ. 
 
I loved this insight!  The war chapters are always hard for me to get through, but this one was really good today. 
 
Well everyone, I love you and hope you all have a wonderful week!  Drive safe, be loving, and let your Light Shine!!!
 
Love Sister ArbonImage
Leave a Reply

