Share Your Testimony

Hey all!
This week I have thought a lot about testimony and how we as missionaries and members NEED to share our testimonies with others.  A testimony is something that we know or believe to be true.  I have a testimony that the Book of Mormon IS the word of God.  I KNOW this.  This is a testimony.  I know that God has a plan for our families and that this life is the time for us to learn and grow so we can make it back to Him.  Bearing testimony is the quickest way to bring the Spirit to any lesson, door approach, etc.  We need “teach while we testify, and testify while we teach.”  I was wondering WHY that’s the case.  Then during my personal study I read a talk from Jeffrey R. Holland.  I just want to quote a little bit of it here. 
 
“There are several reasons for bearing testimony. One is that when you declare the truth, it will bring an echo, a memory, even if it is an unconscious memory to the investigator, that they have heard this truth before—and of course they have. A missionary’s testimony invokes a great legacy of testimony dating back to the councils in heaven before this world was. There, in an earlier place, these same people heard this same plan outlined and heard there the role that Jesus Christ would play in their salvation.
 
So the fact of the matter is investigators are not only hearing our testimony of Christ, but they are hearing echoes of other, earlier testimonies, including their own testimony of Him, for they were on the side of the faithful who kept their first estate and earned the privilege of a second estate. We must always remember that these investigators, every man, woman, and child, were among the valiant who once overcame Satan by the power of their testimony of Christ! So when they hear others bear that witness of Christ’s saving mission, it has a familiar feeling; it brings an echo of truth they themselves already know.”
 
My mind was BLOWN by that.  It all makes sense to me now.  We ALL knew this before this life.  We all did.  We all chose to come here, knowing fully well that we might fall.  But we wanted it bad enough to come here.  When we bear our testimonies, our testimony helps others to REMEMBER the testimony that they have inside of them from before this life.

That being said, I want to bear my solemn testimony to you all today.  I KNOW that Jesus is The Christ, the Savior of the world, the Shepherd of our souls. I know that our garments can be washed white only in the blood of the Lamb. I bear witness that He was wounded for our transgressions and bruised for our iniquities. I know that we are lifted up unto life because He was lifted up unto death, that He bore our griefs and carried our sorrows, and with His stripes we are healed.

I pray that you will all have the opportunity to bear your own testimony to someone this week

I love you all so much!

 Love always,

Sister Arbon

Leave a Reply

