Do I Make Bows?

Heya… How’s it goin’ eh?
 
This was a really great week!  We found 2 wonderful new investigators here in Port McNeill!!!  I love it up here.  Greatest place ever.  I really am hoping I don’t get transferred tonight….  I’ll let you all know next week!
 
One of our new investigators is named Karen.  She’s CRAZY!  But awesome.  She is an alcoholic, and she’s definitely a 60’s child.  The story of how we found her is really miraculous though!  We were really struggling to find new people to teach, and so we decided to try something, kind of funny, but it worked.  We prayed that the person we were supposed to teach would be wearing a red shirt so that we would recognize them.  I felt really strongly to go to a street called Kingcome, and one house in particular was really callin to me.  So we walked up to the house and this MASSIVE huskie/wolf cross (there’s tons of them up here) came running out and let us pet him.  Karen came out and was SHOCKED that Timber was letting us pet him and so she was like, come on in!!!  Lo and behold, her shirt was a bright red turtle neck. 
 
The other one is named Ron.  He’s not religious at all so it will be interesting teaching him.  But fun too!
 
As I was studying this morning, I came across a really neat scripture passage in 1 Nephi.  Yes, I’m back in 1 Nephi again.  Third time through the Book of Mormon since I left!  Quite an accomplishment, I think. 
Aaaanywaaaay, it was in 1 Nephi 16 where Nephi breaks his bow.  Everyone, including Lehi at this point, was murmuring and was really mad at him for breaking his really nice steel bow because now they had no food.  However, Nephi did not get down.  In verse 23 it says,
 
“And it came to pass that I , Nephi, did make out of wood a bow, and out of a straight stick, an arrow; wherefore I did arm myself with a bow and an arrow, with a sling and with stones.  And I said unto my father: Whither shall I go to obtain food?”
 
This was written next to the passage (I think Wendy was originally the one who showed me this insight)  “Do I complain?  Or do I make bows?”
 
So when we are going through hard things, how do we react?  Do we complain about everything that has gone wrong and will go wrong?  Or do we get up and get cracking on making our situation better?  I hope it’s the second.  It’s not always, even for me, but as long as 9 times out of 10 we choose to do something about it, we are doing alright. =]
 
Last p-day we decided to make guacamole.  It was awesome!  Then we put it in the icebox…. and forgot about it.  So… today we decided to clean out our icebox.  And we found SEVERAL science experiments growing within.  Hahaha.  The White Bible says “Do not keep pets of any kind.”  Oops….. we had things growing on everything in the icebox.  It was a really enlightening morning!
 
Well everyone, I hope you are all fantastic!  I will let you know what happens next!  Stay tuned!
 
Love you all!!!!!!!
 
Love Sister Arbon
Leave a Reply

