Our Deepest Fear

Hello Everyone!  I hope you all have had an awesome week!
 
I’ve really been thinking about how we judge ourselves this week.  I have an absolutely incredible trainee, and to be perfectly honest, I sometimes think she’s more fit to train than I am. 
 
Sometimes in our lives, we doubt ourselves, and our own ability and power.  I have really felt that way this week.  That’s not to say I don’t love my trainee.  I do.  SOOO much.  I think she’s amazing!  The crazy thing is, just when I was feeling like a pretty good missionary, Heavenly Father called me to train.  At first, I was like… “Oooh yeah.  I’m that good.”  And that’s where I made my first mistake.  Haha!  Heavenly Father had to knock me down a couple notches, reeeeeaaaallllyyy quick.  Which He did.  By sending me an amazing companion who doesn’t even need a trainer!  Haha!
 
That thought brought me to remember this quote from Nelson Mandela…
 
“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
 
It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?
 
Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.
 
We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the Glory of God that is within us.
 
It is not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.
 
As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

[Nelson Mandela’s inaugural speech, 1977.]

 
That quote really hit home with me this week!  Because I realized that it doesn’t matter that Sister Hughes is an astoundingly good missionary!  That should make me love her MORE!  (Which I do.  She rocks.)  I realized that because she’s good, doesn’t mean that I’m not. 
 
We EACH have the power to be amazing!  And more importantly, we each gain that power because of our Heavenly Father!  He is the one who has given us our unique talents and abilities, and it is for Him that we should be using them!  
 
That’s my spiel on that this week.
 
We found two awesome new investigators this week!  One is a 17 year old named Pauline.  She has a little 6 week old baby, and just really needs to feel the love of God in her life!  It’s funny, because we were actually dropping by the house to talk to her foster mom, Kate.  But Kate wasn’t there, so we talked to Pauline instead!  It was a really neat experience to be able to talk to her about her life and her experiences.  Really sweet girl!
 
The other new investigator we found was a referral from one of our formers named Sharon.  Her name is Jen and she’s just been going through a REALLY rough situation, so who better to help than the missionaries!  I’ve really laughed this week about Elder Nelson’s talk…. because Sharon asked us about the church’s addiction recovery program for Jen, and in my head I hear…. “Ask the missionaries!  They can help you!”
 
We’re so excited!  We’re putting on an awesome fireside next week!  AND we’ve got our penetecostal friends coming and PARTICIPATING!  One of them is going to be singing How Great Thou Art, and one will be saying a closing prayer!  How awesome is that!  It’s a fireside that Sister Hughes put together when her father passed away, and it’s just like, how to get through trials.  And we’re advertising for it all over town and it’s going to ROCK!  Me and Dexter Neilson are going to sing “You Know Better Than I”, Hyrum and Cori Neilson are singing “Come Thou Fount”, Russ (pentecostal) is singing “How Great Thou Art”, and Sister Hughes is singing “Hold On, the Light Will Come.”  It’s going to be fabulous!  And it’s amazing that we’ve got the Full Gospel people helping with it!  Heavenly Father works in amazing ways! 
 
Well everyone, I love you and hope you all have a blessed week!
 
Love Sister Arbon
Leave a Reply

